PERTH HILLS HISTORY 

Located in the Darling Scarp, Perth Hills has a fascinating history.

Come discover and explore our amazing heritage.

Story of Maamba

Story of Maamba - Audio of Local History
00:00 / 00:00
A native reserve at Maamba at the foot of the Darling Scarp was established by Premier John Forrest in 1899 in an effort to care for derelict Aborigines. 
 
It was developed as a small scale agricultural settlement for local Aboriginals. It was in the present-day Forrestfield/Wattle Grove
area including what is now Hartfield Park. At the end of 1903, the chief Protector of Aborigines, Henry Prinsep decided to make this
Welshpool Reserve a ration depot. Prinsep insisted all Aboriginal people in the metropolitan area should be moved to the reserve,
along with a European caretaker. Despite protests Aboriginals from Guildford, Perth, Helena Valley, Gingin, Northam, York, Beverley, Busselton and Pinjarra were moved there.

Daisy Bates visited the area in 1905, pitching her tent and talked with the Aborigines over a period of time whilst living there. Prior to the formation of the reserve, the area had been a place where many Aboriginal tracks crossed in the sandy foothills where travel was easier than in the hills. A “scarred tree” which has now been fenced off in Hartfield Park, is thought to have been used to produce bark which would have been used to create shield and coolamons (dish-shaped utensils used to carry food or even a baby).

Charles Harrington, a ‘travelling missionary’ arrived in WA in December 1907. At the request of the Chief Protector, Charles Gale, from 1908 to 1909 the Aborigines’ Inland Mission took over the running of Welshpool (Maamba) Reserve which had been established by the government in 1902.

Story of Joobaitch

Joobiatch - Audio - Local History
00:00 / 00:00
Joobaitch of the kangaroo tribe of Perth, a Wordungmat or dark-type crowman, had been born in Stirling’s time, and was the son of
that Yalgunga who ceded his spring on the banks of the Swan to Lieutenant Irwin. Joobaitch, was, a protege of Bishop Hale and at one time a native trooper.

Story of Lesmurdie Falls

Lesmurdie Falls - Audio - Local History
00:00 / 00:00
Listen to Aboriginal Elder, Neville Collard, walk and talk you through the Lesmurdie walk trail. Starting from the top level car park which is located off Falls Road in Kalamunda, Neville highlights local flora and fauna. viewpoints and  other land marks.

© City of Kalamunda

  • Facebook Clean
  • Twitter Clean
  • White Instagram Icon
  • Blogger - White Circle
  • TripAdvisor - White Circle
  • White YouTube Icon